Appraisal Institute Honors May Volunteers of Distinction

vod_headertodayThe Appraisal Institute has announced its “Volunteer of Distinction” honorees for May:  Thomas O. Gillgren, SRA, of Region VII (San Diego Chapter) and Rafael Bonnin, MAI, of Region X (Puerto Rico and Caribbean Chapter).

The Appraisal Institute’s member recognition program honors members for their volunteer service to the Appraisal Institute, to the real estate valuation profession and to their local communities. Each month, the Appraisal Institute recognizes one honoree in each region as a Volunteer of Distinction.

Region VII consists of Arizona, Hawaii, Southern California and Southern Nevada. Region X consists of Florida, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

blog_image_5_9_12jpgGillgren serves as the Nominating Committee chair of the San Diego Chapter. He was president of the San Diego Chapter in 2011; vice president and regional representative in 2010; treasurer, Finance Committee chair and alternate regional representative in 2009; secretary in 2008; and served on the Membership Admissions, Development and Retention Committee in 2006. Gillgren also was a member of the Appraisal Institute’s Leadership Development and Advisory Council from 2009-2010. He became a member of the Appraisal Institute in 1987 and received his SRA designation in 1993.

Bonnin served as a member of the Appraisal Institute’s International Relations Committee from 2008-2011, a member-at-large of the Strategic Planning Committee from 2007-2008, a member of the Audit Committee in 2006 and a member of the Instructor Subcommittee in 2003. He served on the Region X Board of Directors from 2004-2006 and as chair in 2006, as Public Relations Committee chair of the Puerto Rico and Caribbean Chapter in 2006 and Region X vice chair. Bonnin also has served as a member of the Finance Committee (2005), the 717 Implementation Project Team, Future Meetings Project Team and International Project Team. In 2004, he was vice chair of the Instructor Subcommittee and vice chair of the International Instructors Advisory Group. He also was president and Public Relations Committee chair of the Puerto Rico Chapter (2003), Education Committee chair (2002) and Admissions Committee chair (2001). He became a member of a predecessor organization to the Appraisal Institute in 1992 and received his MAI designation in 2000.

Appraisal Institute members may nominate members by submitting the nomination form to their chapter’s executive director or president. Each region’s honorees then are chosen by their regional executive director in conjunction with the region’s chair and vice chair. See the nomination form and additional information about the “Volunteer of Distinction” program.

If you have an “opinion of value,” please share your comments.